OPERS PLOYERNotice

Ohio Public Employees Retirement System • 277 East Town Street • Columbus, Ohio 43215



Uncontested races in 2010 OPERS Board of Trustees Election

Who should read this notice

Those responsible for communicating information to employees

Situation Overview

Three of the four seats up for election to the OPERS Board of Trustees are uncontested. Consequently, members of the following constituent groups: Municipal Employees, State College and University Employees, and Retirees will not receive a ballot for the 2010 OPERS Board of Trustees election.

Action requested

Please inform your employees about the upcoming 2010 OPERS Board of Trustees election:

- State employees will receive a ballot for the 2010 election, however
- Municipal employees, state college and university employees, and retirees will not receive a ballot for the election.

Who to contact for more information

After you review this *Employer Notice*, contact Employer Outreach with questions or comments at 888-400-0965 or by email at employeroutreach@opers.org.

This Employer Notice is written in plain language for use by public employers who are subject to coverage under the Ohio Public Employees Retirement System. It is not intended as a substitute for the federal or state law, namely the Ohio Revised Code, the Ohio Administrative Code, or the Internal Revenue Code, nor will its interpretation prevail should a conflict arise between it and the Ohio Revised Code, Ohio Administrative Code, or Internal Revenue Code. Rules governing the retirement system are subject to change periodically either by statute of the Ohio General Assembly, regulation of the Ohio Public Employees Retirement Board, or regulation of the Internal Revenue Code. If you have questions about this material, please contact our office or seek legal advice from your attorney.



Note: The only constituent group to

receive a ballot for the

2010 OPERS Board of Trustees election will

be state employees.

The remaining three

groups: municipal

employees, state college and university

employees, and

a ballot.

retirees will not receive

BOARDof Trustees

Ken Thomas, Chair Representative for Municipal Employees

Cinthia L. Sledz, Vice Chair Representative for Miscellaneous Employees

Eddie L. ParksRepresentative for State Employees

Sharon M. DownsRepresentative for Retirees

John W. Maurer Representative for Retirees

Kimberly Ann Russell Representative for Non-teaching College/University Employees

Helen Youngblood Representative for County Employees

Hugh QuillDirector, Department of Administrative Services

Lennie WyattGovernor Appointed Investment Expert

James R. Tilling
General Assembly Appointed Investment Expert

Charlie Adkins
Treasurer Appointed Investment Expert

Chris DeRose Chief Executive Officer